The Fontana di Trevi is a beautiful and stunning landmark. I’ve been there myself for a music tour. It’s an iconic symbol of Rome and thousands of tourists flock to visit the fountain. I’m quite glad that this became a set. It’s very easy to recognise, even as a Lego set.
The designer Rok Kobe was tasked with creating a small scaled Trevi Fountain. He’s abstracted balustrades and balconettes into a single brick. The fountain uses consistent colours so use of grey bricks for the bas-reliefs and arch inscription. The rocks break the symmetry of the fountain, also accomplished by Rok Kobe.
This set was released early 2014 and has just retired at the end of 2016.
It’s retail price is $69.99 ($49.99usd/₤39.99/€49.99) though now I expect the prices will rise.
First Impressions
When I received this set I was really keen to open it and start building but my excitement increased when I lifted the almost 1kg box! Usually, Lego sets have lots of “air” inside their sets but the Trevi Fountain (21020) caught me off guard. I did not expect such a weight for that box size of 26cm-7cm-19cm.

dsc02079dsc02082dsc02085

 I really like the new design of the boxing which reinforces the sides yet also gives it an elegant display.
Contents 
Inside the box the first items are the pieces in their plastic bags, five of them. They are clearly not what’s weighing down the box. As I dig deeper, I uncover a massive booklet which left me absolutely gobsmacked. I’ve never encountered such a big booklet. Usually, it’s split into several booklets.dsc02147dsc02146DSC02148.JPGdsc02092A small pamphlet is also included to complete the survey they usually stick on the back of instruction booklets, possibly to get more people to send their thoughts on this set to Lego.
Building
The general building experience I find was quite positive. The beginning starts with black baseplates, leaving space in the center for white baseplates. The water covers most of the floor, shown by 97 1×2 trans-blue tiles.
dsc02103
The wall at the back shows the living quarters. 1×1 bricks have been used to represent windows. This part I think needed the most attention because all the 1×1 bricks weren’t supported for awhile and needed to be kept straight. It’s quite fiddly.
Reall development shows when starting to build the main structure. The pillars, arches and microfigs add more detail as well as the small, more technical features such as the jumper plate on top of the windows.dsc02106dsc02111DSC02109.JPGThe rocks require a lot of focus. Misplacing a piece won’t do any favour. There is no pattern to the placing of the bricks, it’s all random. It’s best to double check this area incase of any mistakes DSC02136.JPGThe most interesting building technique I discovered was the use of 2×2 jumper plates. In the instructions, one 2×2 jumper was place to the right/left of the jumper plate below to create a ledge and slight step.dsc02134Behind the main structure, a little hidden away, Rok Kobe has used an overlapping system of 1×4 tiles instead of 1×3 tiles which I think looks really good and shows the model has gone further than a basic building. dsc02138The decoration on the top of the Trevi Fountain adds beautiful final touches to the model while still keeping with the right scale. dsc02139dsc02145Summary
After having the chance to buy a set from online, I decided I wanted to have a retiring soon set and settled on the Architecture series. The only other set I had from this theme was the Big Ben (21013) and that was ages ago. I really enjoyed building this set piece by piece. It took me about an hour and twenty minutes to complete and I am really impressed by it. Lots of careful detail has been placed into this set, including the horses which must’ve been difficult to build. Reflecting against the real thing, Rok Kobe has done a very pleasing job. The only thing that could have been improved is lengthening the pool area and possibly giving stickers for the grey tiles, though no other Architecture set has this so maybe it’ll make the model look odd.
DSC02149.JPGI think I will have to buy at least one 2017 Architecture set this year. Comment below on which one you want it to be. Sydney? Chicago? London? Guggenheim Museum? Arc de Triomphe? Or maybe an unknown set…
Leave a Reply

